SCPH Will Offer Free BinaxNOW COVID-19 Home Tests to Residents



Press Release

[Akron, OH] – Summit County Public Health will offer free BinaxNOW COVID-19 Home tests
to Summit County residents at our walk up Vital Statistics window located at 1867 W. Market
St. Akron, Ohio 44313. No appointments are necessary and there is a 1 test per person limit.
The test kits will be available between the hours of 8:00 am – 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday
at the Vital Statistics window. The test can be used for anyone age 4 and over.

The free tests are as a result of a partnership between the State of Ohio and Abbott and eMed to bring rapid, reliable testing into the home where the result is delivered in minutes. The 15-minute BinaxNOW COVID-19 Ag Card Home Test has received FDA Emergency Use Authorization for at-home testing in collaboration with a telehealth session. Abbott has selected eMed, a digital health solution, as its telehealth partner. This service for COVID-19 testing prescribes and allows the test to be done rapidly at home with virtual instruction and consultation. A trained telehealth professional guides those being tested through the at-home self-test via video call using the BinaxNOW COVID-19 Ag Card Home Test and Abbott’s complementary NAVICA mobile app to enable the testing process and display BinaxNOW COVID-19 test results.

SCPH encourages those residents who are both vaccinated and unvaccinated to continue to
engage in safe and effective behaviors to reduce the spread of COVID-19:
– Stay home if you’re sick, even with mild symptoms
– Be mindful in your interactions with others. Limit your chances of exposure by maintaining social distancing of at least six feet from non-household members
– Wear a mask in public
– Consider necessary travel only
– Follow good hygiene standards:
– Wash hands frequently with soap and water for at least 20 seconds
– Use hand sanitizer frequently
– Avoid touching your face
– Cover coughs and sneezes

If you have questions, call the COVID-19 Call Line (330) 926-5795. The call line is open from
9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. M-F.


Comments are closed.